2012 CANADIAN NATIONAL TEAM TRIALS in Charlotte North Carolina USA

I left for Charlotte on March 2nd to get as much training on the white water course as possible. Having no coach at the beginning of the camp, I trained with a good group of paddlers: Kathleen Tayler, Michael Tayler and Tyler Hinton. The hard training paid off, congratulations to Michael Tayler for qualifying to the London Olympic Games! I also qualified my spot on the 2012 Canadian “A” Team for C1W. It was a crazy weekend of racing, luckily I was surrounded by good friends and family supporting me, especially my mother who couldn’t have done a better job in encouraging me down the course.

I have now earned the opportunity to compete at World Cup 1 to 5 this summer and also Under 23 World Championships in Wausau, Wisconsin, USA. It is a great relief to know I’m part of the team once again; however the work has just began. Now that I’ve made team I hope to be able to bring great results for Canada on the international circuit this summer. So far I plan on attending World Cup 2 in Pau, France, World Cup 3 in La Seu de Urgell, Spain and Under 23 Championships. Depending on funding, I might or might not attend World Cup 4 & 5 in Prague and Bratislava in August. I am currently training in Pau, France to prepare for the upcoming summer competitions and especially World Cup 2 in mid July on the Pau whitewater course. More updates to come on my training in Pau, France!

One thought on “2012 CANADIAN NATIONAL TEAM TRIALS in Charlotte North Carolina USA

Leave a Reply

